Heathrow & Gatwick: All the countries on the green list

The House Hotel Jeddah CityYard opens next week
September 14, 2021
September 14, 2021

With the miserable weather we’ve had all summer, it’s not surprising that many are looking abroad for their fix of Vitamin D.

Except with coronavirus still raging, unprepared travellers could get caught out by expensive Covid tests or simply turned away at the border.

That’s why it’s particularly important to be aware of all the travel rules and restrictions in place.

The UK introduced the ‘traffic light’ system in May 2021, ranking countries in either green, amber or red lists.

This would affect the measures travellers from these countries would have to go through on and before their arrival in England.

People returning to England from one of these countries must:
  • Take a Covid test in the three days before the journey
  • Book and pay for another test on day two of your return
  • Complete a passenger locator form
  • Take the Covid test on or before day two

Some of the countries on the green list are marked as ‘green watchlist’. This means they are at risk of moving to the amber list on the next travel review.

Here is the green travel list in full.

Green travel list

  • Anguilla (Green watchlist)
  • Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory (Green watchlist)
  • Antigua and Barbuda (Green watchlist)
  • Austria
  • Australia
  • The Azores (Mainland Portugal is on the amber list)
  • Barbados (Green watchlist)
  • Bermuda (Green watchlist)
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands (Green watchlist)
  • Croatia (Green watchlist)
  • Denmark
  • Dominica (Green watchlist)
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada (Green watchlist)
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel and Jerusalem (Green watchlist)
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Madeira (Green watchlist)
  • Mainland Portugal is on the amber list.
  • Malta
  • Montserrat (Green watchlist)
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands (Green watchlist)
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan (Green watchlist)
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (Green watchlist)