No quarantine needed: Singapore to allow tourists from China, Australia

Africa’s year of zero: a special report on the future of wildlife tourism
October 31, 2020
Vistara Set To Have 6 Boeing 787-9 Aircraft By 2021
November 1, 2020

Starting 6 November, Singapore will allow all travellers from China and state of Victoria, Australia without the need for quarantine as long as they negative from COVID-19 upon arrival.

Singapore unilaterally opens its borders to China and Australia as the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) deemed that mainland China and Victoria followed comprehensive public health surveillance systems and had successfully controlled the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

Singapore earlier announced reopening its borders with Brunei, New Zealand, Vietnam and all other parts of Australia, except Victoria. The state of Victoria reopened last Wednesday after COVID cases dwindled down and the state recorded zero cases for the first time. China, on the other hand, has a local incidence rate of 0.00009 cases per 100,000 people.

Travellers from the two countries can apply for an air travel pass to enter Singapore. Applicants must have remained in China or Australia in the last 14 consecutive days before entry into Singapore. Meanwhile, outbound travel is still restricted in both countries.