28 C
Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Italy’s latest travel rules, explained

The rules on travelling to Italy have changed several times in the past month, and they’re different from the rest of the EU. 

Some tourism is allowed; some travel to and from outside Europe is allowed; some journeys are allowed with a quarantine; and some places you just can’t go.

Think of Italy’s travel rules as a traffic light system: some countries have the green light for unrestricted travel, some are on amber with a quarantine requirement, and some are stuck on red with no tourism allowed.

Here are the rules, explained.

Photo: Christophe Simon/AFP

No restrictions, no quarantine

Most travellers within Europe can travel freely to and from Italy without having to justify their reasons for travel or quarantining upon arrival.

Most other European countries have also now dropped their own restrictions on Italy, meaning that travellers won’t have to quarantine when they return home either: check with your government for its latest travel advice.


  • All other members of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.
  • All non-EU members of the Schengen Zone: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.
  • The UK: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
  • Microstates and enclaves: Andorra, Principality of Monaco, Republic of San Marino and the Vatican City State.


  • Citizens of those countries.
  • Foreign residents living in those countries.
  • Family members of a citizen or resident: spouse, civil or cohabiting partner, dependent children aged below 21 years, other dependent lineal relatives.

Exception: people who have travelled outside any of these countries in the 14 days before arriving in Italy, who will have to quarantine themselves for two weeks.

READ ALSO: Italian region introduces €1,000 fine for breaking quarantine

For example, someone travelling to Italy from France on July 15th would be required to self-isolate if they had travelled to France from the US on July 10th; but would not be required to self-isolate if they travelled from the US to France before July 1st.

Photo: Jacques Demarthon/AFP

Free to visit, but subject to 14-day quarantine

In line with advice from the EU, since July 1st Italy has re-allowed travel from approved countries with a low infection rate. 

Travellers from these countries are free to visit Italy for any reason, including tourism, but they must quarantine for two weeks upon arrival.

You are expected to make your own arrangements for self-isolation before your arrive, including planning where you will quarantine and how you’ll get there from the airport: you must not use public transport. You should inform the authorities of your plans via this form (available in English), which you will expected to show to border officers on arrival.


The ‘safe list’ currently includes 14 countries:

  • Algeria 
  • Australia 
  • Canada
  • Georgia 
  • Japan 
  • Montenegro 
  • Morocco 
  • New Zealand 
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

China has also been approved, but the EU is waiting for confirmation that the arrangement will be reciprocal before adding it to the list.

The list will be reviewed and updated every two weeks.


The exemption only applies to residents of these countries, not people who may be nationals but live elsewhere. For example, an Australian residing in the US still could not visit Italy as a tourist.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -spot_img


- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles