New York adds 8 more states to travel advisory list for mandatory quarantine

EU opens borders to ‘safe’ countries including Thailand
July 2, 2020
Thailand opens for foreigners with residence permit, spouses and children with Thai citizens
July 2, 2020

New York has added eight more states to its travel advisory list, requiring travelers from those areas to quarantine for 14 days.

The newly-added states are California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee.

“As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, New York is taking action to maintain the precarious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening,” Gov. Andrew Cuomo said. “We’ve set metrics for community spread just as we’ve set metrics for everything the state does to fight COVID-19, and eight more states have reached the level of spread required to qualify for New York’s travel advisory, meaning we will now require individuals traveling to New York from those states to quarantine for 14 days.”

A full, updated list:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

The announcement comes as New York reports just 1 percent of Monday’s COVID-19 tests were positive statewide and there were 13 deaths across the state.

A summary of the latest data, according to the state:

  • Patient Hospitalization – 891 (+38)
  • Patients Newly Admitted – 72 (+20)
  • Hospital Counties – 27
  • Number ICU – 217 (+1)
  • Number ICU that are intubated – 137 (+1)
  • Total Discharges – 70,487 (+52)
  • Deaths – 13
  • Total Deaths – 24,855