30 C
Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Bangladesh no longer eligible for Schengen visa

Bangladesh not among the 54 countries that will benefit from the reopening of the European Union, which is expected to begin next month

Bangladeshis will no longer be eligible to enter Schengen countries once the European Union borders open by the beginning of July, reports Euronews.

Bangladesh has not been listed among the 54 countries who will be able to enter Schengen countries using a short-stay visa that allows a person to travel to any members of the Schengen area. There are no border controls within the Schengen zone.

The citizens of 54 world countries will benefit from the reopening of the European Union external borders, which is expected to happen by the beginning of July.

According to sources of Euronews, EU officials failed to agree on a common list of the countries that would definitely be banned from entering the block upon the border reopening but managed to create a list of the countries with a better epidemiological situation, the citizens of which will be able to enter Europe by the end of next week.

The same sources have also confirmed that citizens of Brazil, Qatar, the US and Russia will only be able to enter Europe at a later date when the epidemiological situation in these countries improves.

Only two South Asian countries – India and Bhutan – made the list. 


Ahead of its official release later this week, which is expected to be implemented after July 1, EU officials said that the list will be updated according to the epidemiological situation and coronavirus response in each country, the ability to apply containment measures during travel, and whether or not that country has lifted travel restrictions towards the EU.

On June 11, the commission presented its recommendation on the reopening of internal Schengen borders on June 15, so that Europeans can travel within the borderless area freely, just as they did during the pre-pandemic times, according to Schengenvisainfo.com.

The commission also recommended that the member states should start allowing third-country nationals to enter the EU starting from July 1, gradually and partially, based on the epidemiological situation in each third-country.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -spot_img


- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles