Japan bans visitors from Bangladesh, India, nine other countries

Marriott is posting new job listings for hotel staff in early sign of recovery
May 31, 2020
Bangladesh to resume domestic flights on Jun 1, international flights stay suspended
May 31, 2020

Japan is expanding its entry ban on visitors from Bangladesh, India and nine other nations as part of border control steps to contain the COVID-19 pandemic.

Japanese foreign ministry raised its travel advisory for 11 countries — Afghanistan, Argentina, India, El Salvador, Ghana, Guinea, Kyrgyz, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh and South Africa — urging against any trips to the areas, according to The Japan Times.

The expansion will take effect on May 27.

‘Japan will maintain the current set of border control measures until the end of June,’ Japanese prime minister Shinzo Abe said, without elaborating, at a meeting of a government task force on the coronavirus response on Monday